Meet My Family!

I’ve been blogging for a long time. I started my first blog in 2008 with My Chihuahua Bites. Blogging was creative outfit; it was an opportunity to connect and establish friendships with people all over the country – in some cases all over the world! I’ve always had a passion for writing and I love to share my life and learn from others. I love the community of women I’ve “met” throughout the years. Although blogging has changed, our relationships have not. Women who first read My Chihuahua Bites migrated to Twitter, then to Instagram, and hopefully now you are back here at Tickled Peach. To those old friends – thank you. Thank you for supporting me through the birth of three children, through countless military moves, through job changes and promotions, and through my depression and anxiety. We may have never hugged each other’s necks, but you are important to me. You are a part of my story.

If you are new here, I hope you will become a part of this community. I’m passionate about women supporting other women. Being a mom is hard. Raising tiny humans is HARD. My mom is fond of saying “it takes a village to raise a child.” In her days of raising babies, that meant her extended family – her grandparents, her parents, her siblings, and her friends. Now, for me, it means my community – the community outside my door and the community of friends I’ve met online. I really hope you will become part of that community!

So without further adieu… Meet my family!

Hello, friends, new and old. I’m Andrea. I’m 38 years old and I am a mom of three. In my professional life, I was a social worker who worked primarily with foster children and adults with special needs. I was a working mom until I had my second child, and I have been staying at home with my children for the past 4 years. I do have a Bachelor of Social Work degree, and I have two years of course work towards a Master of Arts in Teaching. I’m also a trained Mediator, specializing in Parent/Youth mediation, Peer Mediation, and Victim/Offender mediation. (That felt like a resume – but I’m always curious about what SAHMs did prior to staying at home, so I figured you might be, too.)

I am a South Carolina native turned Georgia girl. I grew in North Augusta, SC and attended Winthrop University for my undergraduate degree. I attended graduate school at the College of Charleston, and that is where I met my husband (also the reason I never finished that degree, ha!). I traveled around a good bit in the early years of my marriage as a military wife, but we returned to the area in 2011 and settled in Augusta, Georgia just 25 minutes from where I grew up. I still catch myself saying I am a Palmetto Girl, but I guess in reality I am now a Georgia Peach.

My faith is very important to me, and it is something you will hear me talk about a lot on this blog. I was saved when I was in the 6th grade, and I have identified myself as Christian throughout the years, but it is only within the past two years that I would say my faith has truly rooted and grown. Last January, one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to grow as a Christian, and in the past year I have seen God do extraordinary things in our lives. I completed my first year of BSF, which truly changed my perspective about studying the Bible (and what I learned in BSF is a large part of why I’m writing this blog!). My family joined a church. I am serving on the leadership team of LILY Moms (formerly MOPS). I shared my testimony of overcoming depression in front of a large group – something I can honestly say I never thought I would do. My oldest son was saved, and he and my husband were baptized. I am co-leading a bible study at church this fall. SO MUCH GOOD STUFF! I will never claim to be an theological expert, but I am a woman who loves Jesus, and I hope you will see that through my blog.

I’m not really sure what free time is anymore, but on the rare occasion I have it, I like to read and take bubble baths. I love everything beauty related, so you’ll hear me talk about skincare and makeup quite often. In another lifetime I think I would have trained as a makeup artist. I am certainly no professional, although my vanity may tell you otherwise. I wouldn’t really say I’m a fashionista either, but I do enjoy putting together cute outfits. Plus size shopping can be hard, and I love sharing my fashion finds!

Meet Jason! Jason and I met when I was in graduate school at the College of Charleston. He was also in Charleston attending Navy schools and believe it or not – we met online. IN A CHAT ROOM. I feel ancient saying that, because chat rooms no longer exist, but the truth is we met online way before meeting online was cool. Ha!

Jason is a two years younger than me, so I guess that makes me a cougar. He’s originally from Illinois, but I’ve converted this Yankee to a Southerner. He likes to say he now has an accent… he does not.

Jason was active duty for 10 years as a Navy Submariner. We made the decision to separate from the Navy in 2011, but he still wanted to serve his country, so he entered the Navy Reserves 6 months later. He has been in the Navy for a total of 16 years and he just made Chief Petty Officer this past month. We are so proud of our CPO! Jason’s “regular” job is at a nuclear power plant.

Jason works really long hours and has a 2 hour daily commute, so he doesn’t have much free time either. But when he does have free time, he loves watching SEC football and playing fantasy football. He loves politics, and if he had his way our television would be permanently affixed to a news channel. He’s recently started attending local political meetings and volunteering for campaigns.

These are my babies. Cooper is 7 years old, and he is in the second grade. He loves Legos, Super Mario Brothers, and he recently started taking archery lessons. He thankfully has inherited his dad’s mathematical ability and lately has been sharing my love of reading. Cooper and I have a special bond, partly I think due to his medical diagnosis (which you’ll read about more later) and due to the fact that he just loves his Mama. Cooper is my child who loves to cuddle (not so much as he has gotten older… TEAR) and he is always very quick to say “I love you.”

Sullivan just turned 4, and he is our joker. He always has an infectious smile and is quick to make you laugh. He is the most athletic of our bunch. We just finished up a season of t ball and we are looking forward to playing again in the spring! Sullivan is my rule breaker… he’s definitely the child who has tested the limits the most. (Case in point: the paint I just found on my living room rug and the 4 year old that had green palms.)

Poppy Grace is our baby. She turned 2 in August, and she runs this house. She has had her brothers wrapped around her fingers since the day she was born, and they are quick to comfort her when she is upset. Poppy Grace loves playing kitchen and taking care of her baby dolls. She is fiercely independent and does things in her own time. We’re starting to get into battles over clothing – I can tell the coming years are going to be fun! She and Sullivan are the best of friends and the biggest troublemakers together.

I am so very thankful for this family of mine. God has blessed me beyond measure, and I’m so thankful to my husband for his hard work, which allows me to stay at home. If I had to describe our lives in two words, they would definitely be chaos and joy. It’s always loud, crazy, and messy around here but being a mom and wife has refined me and brought me unspeakable joy. I wouldn’t change a thing about our lives!

I would love to hear from you in the comments! Please tell me where you are from and a little bit about your family!


  1. Holly Jackson says:

    Hi! I was born in New York, but had lived most of my life in Georgia. I am a wife and mother. My husband, Kevin, and I have 3 children. We have a 3 year old daughter and twin 10 month old sons.

  2. Augusta!!! ?
    Married to my amazing hubby!
    2 boys and hoping for a third child one day!!

  3. I’m Virginia and I live just west of Augusta. I’ve lived here all my life and I’ve been married to Adam for 15 years and have four kids. They’re 8, almost 6, 3, and 18 months!

  4. Not from Augusta, I’m from outside of Atlanta from a city called Conyers. I’ve been married to Kenny for eleven years. We have three children.

  5. Born and raised in Kansas. Moved to Washington state in 2001. I’ve been married for 14 years and we have an 11 year old son and 9 year old daughter. In the last year we finally added a dog to the mix! I feel like a taxi driver most days but I’m grateful for the opportunities we have. We are active in our church and our latest milestone is our son starting youth group! I’ve only “known” you on Instagram so I love reading your blog now!

  6. Marcia Bailey says:

    I am from Augusta originally but hubby Jim and I have been living in Harlem since 1979. We have 4 grown children 10 grandchildren ranging in age from 20 to 1. Tell Sullivan I am looking forward to seeing him tomorrow night.

  7. Born and raised in Oklahoma City. I have been married for almost 11 years and live in a small college town in Western Oklahoma. We have 3 children, 2 girls and a boy and I am a stay at home mamma!!

  8. Born and raised in Oklahoma City. Graduated from the University of Oklahoma (BOOMER SOONER !!) with a degree in nursing. I met my husband 15 years ago and we have been married for almost 11. We live in a small college town in Western Oklahoma and have 3 children, 2 girls, ages 9 and 5 and a son who just turned 1 !! I am now a stay at home mama and loving every minute of this crazy adventure !!

  9. We’ll always be Palmetto Girls at heart! While I’m comfortable here in Augusta…my heart yearns to he back next to the sea in SC. Maybe one day…wheny hisbamd retires again from this second career.

Speak Your Mind